image

I might have to actually go and make one of these now, drat it.

Firstly, apologies for being hugely behind on responding to comments. Kids are still on holiday here (despite the fact that they haven’t been to school for what feels like about 17 weeks) and their presence severely cramps my access to computer…

I have been thinking a lot about anyone starting (or re-starting) their sober journey this January, and wanted to just send any such readers my sincerest words of congratulation, some virtual Victoria sponge cake, and a few links.

Firstly, here’s a post I wrote to myself-at-the-start-of-my-own-sobriety when I was 11 weeks sober. I thought you might like to read it because with hindsight I am still entirely gobsmacked at how much my life changed in such a short time. How much could your life change by mid-March?

Secondly, another post of mine about not mistaking getting sober for being sober. The former is like voluntarily sticking your arm in a red-ant hill – I know this. If I could give you one gift it would be the reassurance that the pain is worth it.

Lastly, if you do podcasts, here’s a great one with Glennon Doyle Melton on Eric Zimmer’s The One You Feed. In it they discuss, among other things, how we can’t selectively repress emotions, the power of the words “Me, too” and how getting sober is like recovering from frostbite.

More soon!  Hang in there, sober heroes! Prim xx

