92396792_getty_cohen976

I was at a carol concert last night and was struck as always by the immense power of music to buoy us up and weld us together as a community. if my recovery had a song, it would have to be – as I suspect it might be for many others – Leonard Cohen’s ‘Hallelujah’, which I remember hearing in the early dark days and feeling it like a splinter in my heart, cracking the shell of pain and fear and opening me wide to feeling and emotion again.

after Leonard Cohen died earlier this year a friend sent me this version by Choir! Choir! Choir! with Rufus Wainwright and 1,500 singers in the Hearn Generating Station, Toronto.

I thought I’d post it now, when it can feel very lonely to be sober – as if you are busking, solo and probably badly, with passers-by ignoring your efforts or even mocking you.

whereas in fact you are part of a HUGE community, online or otherwise, raising their voices in unison and hope. a tremendous variety of people, united in their belief that life can be better than it was, and a preparedness to do whatever it takes to achieve that.

keep singing, my friends! Prim xx

