I found this mocktail here and adored the name and the suggested combination of rhubarb syrup, ginger beer and lime. I was keen to fit it in before the end of this series (sniff…) but couldn’t find rhubarb at my local greengrocer. if I do get round to making it I will let you know!

so instead I’ve used ingredients that I already had in my fridge and renamed this cranberry and rosemary mocktail in honour of Betty:

image credit: insonnetskitchen.com

here’s what I did, for 2 servings:

  • juice 200g of fresh cranberries with 3 small apples.
  • add 4 tablespoons of rosemary syrup to the jug of juice and mix throughly. I did this in the drinking glass but it needs a good mix as the syrup is viscous so it’d be easier to do in a larger container.
  • divide the juice between two tall glasses. add a few ice cubes.
  • top up with mixer of your choice – diet lemonade, soda water or tonic water. depends how acidic you want to go.

this is a really interesting drink – sweet but sharp with the rosemary providing a dark troubling undercurrent of flavour. it is also like Betty in being very high maintenance as washing up the juicer is a lot of faff.  I have a juicer but this is almost definitely the first time I have used it this year… heigh ho for the Nutribullet if I ever have any spare cash ever again 😉 Prim xx

