have been wondering what complex culinary creation to surprise you with on Christmas Day – only to decide to honour that workhorse of drinks, the first coffee of the day. my companion on so many of my blogging adventures, whether it is black or white, instant or ‘proper’ coffee, make at home or take-away. coffee is a friend to all.

here’s a wonderful quote from Jim Carrey:

I wake up some mornings and sit and have my coffee and look at my beautiful garden, and go, ‘Remember how good this is. Because you can lose this.’

I love the idea of the first coffee of the day being a trigger for that thought – and it must be working, as Carrey has been sober since 2007 πŸ™‚ .

a sober Christmas Day can be fantastic, but it also has the potential to be a tough one, whether we are newly sober or grizzled veterans. it is totally, totally worth it. remember how good this is. hang in there. have a coffee with me?

my first drink on Christmas Day will be Taylors Lazy Sunday coffee. the makers describe it as having ‘sweet hazelnut and juicy citrus flavours’. I take it black, with croissants on the side πŸ˜‰

all together now – repeat after me:

‘Today I will kick ass and make dreams happen…. but first, coffee.’

Happy Christmas, soberverse! Prim xx

