image credit: The Sweetest Occasion

I have been giving Tiptree’s Salted Caramel Spread the glad-eye for some weeks. Tiptree are a long-established family firm in Essex who have a rather endearing website. the home page features a varying set of images of their products each accompanied by a quote from sources as diverse as John Ruskin, Jimi Hendrix and Aristotle.

think my favourite was this rather clunky one from Philip Stanhope, 4th Earl of Chesterfield (1694 -1773):

‘Persist and persevere, and you will find most things that are attainable, possible.’

I am now under a strong pull to visit their premises and the Tiptree Museum. what could be nicer than a jam museum?

well, this hot drink recipe, for one! I keep finding more favourites in this series but I think this is my new favourite ๐Ÿ˜‰

it is inspired by this recipe from Joy The Baker. but realistically I was never going to shoehorn that slightly terrifying method of making salted caramel from scratch into my pre-Christmas schedule. so the ready-made Tiptree version sang its siren song to me.

even tied myself to the mast – still could. not. resist.

here’s what I did:

  • place 2 rounded tbsps of caramel sauce into a mug. (NB post edited to add: see comments for supermarket versions!) scrape spoon clean with another spoon. lick both spoons clean. swoon with delight and scrape oneself back up from floor.
  • fill another mug with milk.
  • heat both mugs in microwave. the sauce will take maybe 10 – 20 seconds to come to boil. don’t let boil over! continue heating mug of milk till piping hot.
  • stir caramel sauce. careful as it will be extremely hot. pour in a little milk and whisk till combined. I have one of those mini balloon whisks but a fork would do perfectly well. it will be a little gunky but follow Lord Chesterton’s advice – persist and persevere! – and it will mix up eventually. add rest of milk gradually while whisking.
  • reheat whole thing in microwave if necessary.
  • go to bed with it and re-read your most comforting book.

when I first started getting sober I would have a bowl of muesli every night at 9pm as a reward for getting through the witching hour. I needed the carbohydrate, I think. if I was starting today this drink would make a hugely sweet and satisfying late night treat. it’s a hug in a mug, in fact!

this would be a lovely thing to drink with the family on Christmas Eve night – although this would involve me informing them of the existence of the sauce in our house, which I am strangely reluctant to do….

Happy Christmas Eve, folks! Prim xx

