well, there’s a first – a gif on my blog! it makes me a little dizzy looking at it, to be honest, so if it does you, too, then scroll down a bit, ok?!

this is something I heard on Scott Smith’s podcast, The Daily Boost, an upbeat (cheesy?!) ten minute motivational show available on iTunes.

Scott describes the moment of fear of change, but it could equally well apply to that moment when a recurring negative thought pattern comes into our minds:

“I can’t do this.”

“I’m not good enough at this.”

“I always give in, so I might as well give up now.”

at which point we can close our eyes, don our virtual ruby slippers, and click our heels together, repeating:

it’s all in my head, it’s all in my head, it’s all in my head.

or, in that other great phrase: feelings are not facts. repeat as necessary until feeling fades.

I’m working my way through the Headspace Self Esteem package at the moment which is very strong on this technique of recognising thought patterns and assessing them. what is recommended is a three stage process of

  • ‘noting’ a thought or feeling, literally saying to oneself ‘ah, thinking’ or ‘ah, feeling’
  • assessing how we related to it, whether pleasant or unpleasant
  • then returning our attention to the breath.

I’m finding this extremely helpful in day to day life, but sometimes thoughts arise which are so loud or toxic or deep-seated that they need a bit more of a kick up the arse to help them on their way – which is where the ruby slippers come in 😉

we may not be able to see where the ladder upwards is taking us – all that we can do is continue to take the next step. and do you know what? that’s okay.

photo by Lissy Elle Laricchia

have a great weekend folks, and keep those slippers handy! Prim xx

