no, not another metaphor-riddled post about one of my favourite stories… but instead, musing upon our hungers and how we confuse and conflate them.

have had a wobbly past few days, emotions all over the place, partly hormonal, partly external factors. and my eating and online usage patterns went completely off-piste.

as in not knowing where the hell I was headed other than into trouble, fast.

trying to apply lessons learned about how these behaviours are signals that all is not well aboard the good ship HMS Primrose and working out what that is…in particular the over-eating thing gives me the shivers. because I spent so long in that particular maze and I am determined never to get back into it.

it’s a bit like when the dishwasher goes wrong, because sensor A is not functioning, so the machine cannot tell that it is already full of water. so the machine keeps pumping and pumping in the water that it does not need.

back to basics now and core emotional needs… one theory about this is Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. Maslow’s contention that human needs are met in sequence. This article,ย which also includes some interesting criticism and discussion of the theory,ย summarises them as follows:

biological and physiological needs – air, food, drink, shelter, warmth, sex, sleep.

safety needs – protection from elements, security, order, law, stability, freedom from fear.

love and belongingness needs – friendship, intimacy, affection and love – from work group, family, friends, romantic relationships.

esteem needs – achievement, mastery, independence, status, dominance, prestige, self-respect, respect from others.

self-actualization needs – realizing personal potential, self-fulfillment, seeking personal growth and peak experiences.

the problem I see in myself is that I am not in tune with which of these hungers I am feeling. I give all of them the same chocolate bloody biscuit, and the sugar monsters begin to give chase while the other needs are starved or stifled…

Shurrup, you little brat, I’m not listening.

no neat and tidy solution paragraph here, sorry.

I reached out to a friend this morning. talked to my husband. went a for run. giving myself a damn good listening to.

that’s all I’ve got, today. it’ll have to do – it usually does.

