learning by doing: another corker from Aristotle

having an attack of the collywobbles today. need to give myself an ancient Greek pep-talk. need a dose of Nicomachean Ethics. or a kick in the arse.

having an “everything is too much” moment already. before 10.30 in the morning. argh. because, you know. stuff. there is never enough time or money or me to go round. and I can’t do it. wanting to hide under the table time. and yes I am pacing myself and giving myself treats and being kind and gentle to myself but sometimes the cupboard is just plain empty.

so. Aristotle, he say:

“For the things we have to learn before we can do them, we learn by doing them, e.g. men become builders by building and lyreplayers by playing the lyre; so too we become just by doing just acts, temperate by doing temperate acts, brave by doing brave acts.”

so, I become sober by being sober? I become good at my job/parenting/wifing by doing it? by doing the thing? oh bugger.

stumbling on today. apparently, that is the way forward. wish me luck.

