what are the chances?

I had a seriously lovely birthday yesterday. my husband said last night that I had looked happy and relaxed all day. which was true. those are good feelings.

I was tickled pink to learn that I shared my birthday with two other sober bloggers. seriously. what are the chances? I knew already that the chances of sharing a birthday with another person are relatively high even in a small group – reaching 50% with 23 people. and hunting on the internet it seems that in a similar sized group the chances of three people sharing a birthday are small, but not ridiculously small, at about one in 70, or 1.4%.

then last night the Universe showed me one more card trick with numbers ๐Ÿ™‚

I started writing a gratitude journal when I hit 100 days but let it lapse a month or so ago. I just got out of that initial stage of remembering to do it. I don’t have a sobriety counter app so the gratitude journal was my way of keeping track. so when I let it lapse I kept having to count on my fingers, and it got embarrassing to keep asking Belle ๐Ÿ˜‰ so a few days ago I started writing it again. heartily recommend it, by the way. when we drink we keep mental lists of the bad stuff. it is so good to keep written lists of the good stuff instead.

so last night, as I always do, I headed up the small page of my notebook with the date, in English format, and then the number of days I have been sober.

16/4.ย 164 days sober.

seriously?! I have been 164 days sober on 16/4, and it’s my birthday????!!!!!

nope. not weird at all. I mean, it’s not as if there’s any hidden meaning if you put the date into US format. 4/16. ah. unless you say 4/1+6. 4/7. 47. which is how old I was yesterday.

ok, Universe. you win. life, as well as sometimes being shit happening to good people, is also a glorious meteor-shower of ridiculous, crazy, happy co-incidences, not the least of which is that I was stone cold sober at 11pm on my birthday and capable of noticing such singular serendipities. hell, I could even have pronounced that!

by the way if you’re not familiar with the photo at the top of this post it’s from a fantastic piece of public art by Nina Katchadourian. at the end of which no-one could find their own cars. ๐Ÿ™‚ by the wayย please don’t click on this link to her website if you have anything else you should be doing!

although her ‘Lavatory Self-Portraits in the Flemish Style’ should not be missed. seriously. if you see one thing on the Internet today.

love to you all! P xxx

