don't think about elephants...

Impossible, isn’t it?

One of the trickiest things I have found about the process of getting sober is that it is a ‘not doing’ process. I can MAKE myself go for a run, or do that xyz work task, or clean the kitchen floor. Then it’s done. But the continual not-doing of something by it’s very nature, in at least the early stages, can make you think about it even more. There is no ‘now I’m done, now I can stop thinking about it’. Because I won’t be done, or finished, with this being sober thing. Alcohol will be in the world around me for the rest of my life. I am finding that the tendency to obsess about not drinking is gradually fading now, which is a huge relief.

In the film ‘Inception’ one of the lead characters is challenged to plant an idea in someone else’s mind.

‘Saito: If you can steal an idea from someone’s mind, why can’t you plant one there instead?
Arthur: Okay, here’s me planting an idea in your head: I say to you, “Don’t think about elephants.” What are you thinking about?
Saito: Elephants.
Arthur: Right. But it’s not your idea because you know I gave it to you. The subject’s mind can always trace the genesis of the idea. True inspiration is impossible to fake.’

However much help we find from our friends and familes, online or elsewhere, the true inspiration for getting sober always has to lie within ourselves. No-one can do that for us.

